Liliana munoz
KeepIt112
Published in
4 min readOct 22, 2019

--

The Amazonas

The Amazonas is one of the largest rain forests of South America, located between Colombia, Brazil, and Peru. In addition it is also known as the lungs of the world, because of all the trees that make oxygen. I love to travel, and whenever I have an opportunity to take a vacation, I don’t doubt myself to have new experiences. The phone rang and the voice in the line said ‘you won the raffle’’, however, couldn’t believe it because of all the scams. Believe it or not, it was true;I won a all expensive full paid trip to the Amazonas, Colombia. There was the chances to see and experience this place, the Amazonas. My new adventure started in January, when I was happy to run away from the cold of New Jersey and travel back to my native country Colombia. I was so excited, since all the stories I had heard about the nature, exotics animals and native Indians, I was going to experience myself.

The rain forest and the hotel were in the middle of the forest. The distances between the Amazonas, Leticia Colombia airport and that hotel was around 45 minutes in a little boat. During the trip to the hotel we were able to view and inhale the smell of nature, the clean oxygen and the breeze from the trees. The boat driver well shared some stories about the borders between countries, such as the longitude of the river, benefits of living and what we can find under the river, like the anacondas, pink dolphins, and crocodiles. Arriving to the hotel, I was surprised that architecture of the room was made of huts and wood. At the hotel they welcomed us with a traditional dance, which I enjoyed. Every night, there was an event that at the hotel, in which a group of dancers, danced the traditional music, wore traditional customs and shared with body expression the importance of protecting the rain forest.

The hotel was beautiful, and so was the mystery of the calm water of the river. In the Amazon River you can find Anacondas, pink dolphins and crocodiles. Furthermore, in their surroundings we can find sloths, monkeys, poison frogs, and jaguar. Seeing the anacondas was a scary feeling, they are long and big. On the other hand, dolphins are adorable, we were in the boat touching the water trying to make them come to as. The tourism guide with a whistle made a noise, so they can come. They were light pink and playful following the boat. I had the experiences to see a lot of animals, however, my most grateful moment was feeding the monkeys. Monkeys are playful; during my tour of the Amazonas you were allowed to feed the monkeys and touch them as they let you be touched while you were holding a banana. It is not only one monkey that comes to you, there are around ten monkeys on top of your head and hands. Obviously, there was the monkey that only went straight for the banana. I enjoyed feeling the monkeys on top of my head, even though their claws had a dry texture. I liked having fun with the monkey massage.

Monkeys were all around me, feeding themselves. On the other hand, native Indians doing a spiritual ritual for us. Welcomed as with a traditional dance, and a ritual of smoke cleaning our spirit. Indians have spiritual believes, they believe in the water, fire, sun and the night. My impression of meeting the Indian was disappointed, because of our government system living them alone. However, it was only an impression, I started to meet they place and understood how happy they were living in little huts and sleeping in hammock, which they are comfortable. Also, seeing the little kid running around with all their body painted black, it was curious but its tradition. In addition, for them having all the body painted is an insect protection. Every day we learn something new from other.

In general, the Amazonas is a place where you can learn from and connect yourself with nature. The amazon is a place where you can change your routine and experience new environments. If I win a raffle or not, I will always will love to go back to this place specially if is going back to my country Colombia.

--

--