Nancy E. Arias
KeepIt112
Published in
4 min readMay 15, 2018

--

The New Personal Assistant

Google Home

Do you like the idea of having a personal assistant at home? In 2016, Google announced several new devices in the United States market. One of the devices was a smart speaker called Google Home. This speaker can be found in different sizes. Google created the Google Home Mini, the Google Home Max and a regular Google Home. Google (n.d) says that Google Home Mini, as it is said in the word, is very small and mighty, and the Google Home Max was built for sound inside and outside. To use it, users just have to speak to give directions to the device allowing them to listen to music, to receive news updates, and to control videos or photos. This speaker, which uses internet connection to work, has become a personal assistant for many people. I got a regular Google Home few months ago, and I love it right away because it has many helpful features. I would recommend to you to get a Google Home because it is able to take care of a lot of task, it works with voice commands, and it has a comfortable and elegant presentation.

Video of Hands-Free calling by Google

Google Home is able to take care of a lot of tasks. Google Home is an effective device that can help you with your daily life activities. It helps with calculations, translations, unit translations, nutrition, and dictionary. I love to learn new languages, so when I want to learn a phrase in Italian or French, that are the languages that I love, it gives me the translations immediately. Besides, I ask it about the meaning of words that I do not know. When I am reading or writing, and I do not identify a word, Google Home provides me the definition and it even gives me examples. Google Home is also proficient to give you the local time of various locations. For example, I live in the United Sates, but my family live in El Salvador. The local time is different, so when I want to call my family, I ask it the local time in El Salvador to do not wake up them early. By the way, Google makes these phone calls as well. In addition, this electronic device can be used to get spelling of words, information on holidays, and nutrition for ingredients or food.

Google Home voice commands

In order to get help with your daily activities, you just have to speak to it. Google Home was fabricated to function with voice commands. Users just have to use their voices to benefit from the Google Home features. Before asking a question or asking for help, you have to say “Ok Google” or “Hey Google.” After that, Google Home is ready to assist you. For example, if you want to request a song, you just have to say “Ok Google” or “Hey Google.” Then, you say “Play (song name).” You also can ask for an artist or an album saying “Play music by (artist name)” or “Play (album name) by (artist name).” You also can ask facts such as “What is the smallest county of America?” or “What is the capital of Egypt?”

Besides being a helpful assistant, it has a comfortable and stylish presentation. According to Google Home specifications (n.d), the regular Google Home has a diameter of 3.79 in. a high of 5.62 in, and a weight of 1.05 lbs. This speaker is like a small vase designed to fit with your home decoration. It has a modest and suitable design that can look perfect in any part of your house. The original Google Home is white and gray. However, Google has taught about people who do not like gray or people who have a different style. Google created the metal bases that can be interchangeable. These bases come in different colors which let you adapt your Google Home with the decoration of your house. You can found them in black metal, copper metal, coral, mango, marine, and violet. I chose mine white and gray because I believe it seems very sophisticated, and my house seems very elegant as well.

Interchangeable metal and fabric bases

Google Home is a very helpful device that can help you with your daily activities. It cannot help you to cook or to drive, but it can give you really good kitchen recipes, and tell you if there is a lot of traffic. I know that you can read a recipe on a book, but with Google home, you just have to listen while you are cooking. Also, you just need to use your voice to find out something with its help. I can tell you that it is going to look delightful in your home. Ready to meet Google Home?

Introducing Google Home by Google

--

--