Yennifer B
KeepIt112
Published in
3 min readDec 14, 2017

--

Yennifer Brito

English 112

Prof. McConnell

Review Essay

December 14, 2017

Bonfire Mofongo House

Bonfire Inside

Last May 2016, my boyfriend graduated from the university. The whole family when to his graduation. We didn’t know how to celebrate this achievement, so we decided to go all out to eat in a restaurant called Bonfire Mofongo House, which is located at 999 Market Street in Paterson, New Jersey. This is a Dominican restaurant, which has very exquisite dishes. I would recommend this restaurant a million times since it has delicious food and drinks. The staff is very accommodating and is a place where you can go with the family and enjoy.

I would recommend this restaurant with my eyes closed. It is not only a restaurant but also a nightclub. You can rent it for events such as birthdays, weddings, baptisms, etc. You can go with your family and kids during the day. At night, you can hang out with your friends. The price is a little bit expensive. Price starts at $20.00, but it’s worthy and I’m going to explain you why.

The first time I went to this restaurant was with my boyfriend’s family. As I mentioned before was to celebrate his graduation. When we arrived immediately the employees assisted us. We first ordered to indent to start. Then they brought us the menu, which had a variety of amazing food such lobster, shrimp, meat. But this restaurant specializes in Mofongo, which is a dish with fried plantains as its main ingredient. Plantains are picked green and then mashed with salt, garlic, and oil in a wooden pylon. For that reason, we all decided to order Mofongo. They have a lot of variety of Mofongo such as pork, chicken, goat, shrimp, fish, among others. I ordered the goat Mofongo. I’m not going to lie, it was the best Mofongo I had tasted in my entire life. It has so much flavor, the meat was to the point. The presentation of the dish was great, I did not want to eat it because it just looks beautiful. That day I was shocked.

Goat Mofongo

I liked it so much that I decided to take my boyfriend to eat for his birthday. This time was way better because we went at night and this place is also a lounge. So, my boyfriend decided to order a paella, which is a tasty way to enjoy your favorite seafood, in one, super-delicious dish. Always include jumbo shrimp, mussels or clams, and a firm white fish such as monkfish, halibut, sea bass. I loved it.

Paella (Seafood)

After finished eating, I asked the employees to sing happy birthday to my boyfriend. They have a güira and Tambora to play it and sing. They sang it to him and brought a little cake for free. After that, we had the opportunity to enjoy and dance music. We danced bachata, merengue, and salsa. We had a great time. Bonfire Mofongo House is an excellent place to go out with your family and friends. As I mentioned before, they have delicious food and an excellent teamwork. If you go to this place, I am sure that you will love it. This Saturday, December 16, I’m going to celebrate my birthday over there, you can tell if I like it.

--

--