Dog Lover

Are You Ready for Sweet Little Teddy?

Lesson 75: Ay Chihuahua Caramba!

Ken Van Camp
Keke’s Guide to Training Your Human
6 min readMay 3, 2024

--

a Chihuahua and Biewer Terrier puppy
Keke and Teddy

Teddy and Chris live next door so I’ve met them many times before. Teddy is not the friendliest dog. He growls and snaps, sounding more like a T-Rex than a Chihuahua, even when Chris jerks his leash and tells him to stop. And me, with tail wagging, head lowered, and eyes averted to avoid any provocation. I’m about as much of a threat as a squirrel with a nut allergy trying to plunder a peanut factory.

Rumor has it that Teddy treats Liesel with respect. Liesel, an aging Dachshund who plods along at the pace of a three-legged lizard. I wonder if, when she was younger, she taught Teddy a lesson that he never forgot.

I’m not the fighting type. I’d rather steer clear than interfere.

So you can imagine how nervous I was when Teddy and Chris appeared at our front door one afternoon. I backed away, then ran to the couch and climbed up the back to my “safe place.” There, I was several feet above Teddy and the floor — out of harm’s way, I hoped.

“Don’t worry, Keke,” Chris purred, pulling me from my perch and taking me in her arms. I should mention that Chris is a woman, and a friendly one at that. She has always been kind to me, even when I “accidentally” peed on her foot after she gave Teddy…

--

--

Ken Van Camp
Keke’s Guide to Training Your Human

Ken Van Camp may not be the perfect human, but he's trainable. At least that's what Keke says! Ken is the author of Keke's Guide to Training Your Human.