Hellloooo to the internet

Kelly Simonson
Kelly Simonson
Published in
2 min readAug 1, 2020
Photo by Kelly Simonson

So, I started a website. And I would like to start by saying, “I have no idea what I’m doing”. First of all, I feel like I must have done something wrong, because it was way too easy to publish a website.

It’s a Wordpress site and it’s nothing complicated at the moment, but I was amazed at how simple it was to get going. I didn’t count the steps, so I hope I’m not misrepresenting the experience here, but my impression after the fact is that it was published and live in about 10 clicks. I started out this morning thinking that I was going to play around with learning how to get a site set up. There would be no way I’d make much progress and I’d have plenty time to contemplate what to actually put on a website once I finally got it working, which I expected to be in about a month or so. Well, that didn’t go as planned, and here I am, live on the big wide internet wondering what to do with myself.

“You must have had some idea of why you wanted to start a website or you wouldn’t have even tried, right?”

Ya, I have a lot of ideas, all of which I’m terrified of sharing with anyone, let alone anyone that might end up on my site.

Ok, here’s what I think I know. I’m interested in technology and how it shapes people and businesses. I like looking at process in business and I like thinking about how to make processes better using technology. I wanted a forum to write and think and get feedback on ideas. I have a strong desire to create, whether it be new processes for using for existing tools, or maybe someday a completely new tool that does something new. But that’s another post all together.

At this point I’m just hoping to put my ideas out into the world and participate in the conversation in a way that I’ve been scared to in the past. Here we go!

Originally published at https://www.kellysimonson.com on August 9, 2019.

--

--

Kelly Simonson
Kelly Simonson

Interested in business processes and their management through technology. More about me at kellysimonson.com