Dive #4 — Family Outing

Mark Russell
Kelp Gardeners
Published in
2 min readJan 5, 2019

January 4th 2019

Today I took a fun snorkel trip out of Enclosure Bay with Oisín my son and Michelle his mum. Beautiful day with clear skies and bright sunshine, and great visibility under the water.

Myself, Michelle and Oisín after our Enclosure Bay swim

While I normally turn left just outside the bay when I go scuba diving here, today we turned right and found another bay, also largely enclosed, just to the east of Enclosure Bay. It is possible to walk to it from the road I believe (I’ve seen a track entrance but have never been down it yet). It’s a beautiful place to snorkel, and has some really good looking candidate sites just outside the mouth of the bay, in reasonably shallow water (2–3m) compare to most of the surrounding coastline which drops away to four or five meters really quickly from the shore.

You can see in Google Maps image above that there is an abundance of kelp along the shoreline (darker areas) outside Enclosure Bay, and then there is an almost immediate marked absence of it when you head out a little bit further.

Yes, this red-circled site is another one to talk to Tim about… I like the look of it a lot!

--

--

Mark Russell
Kelp Gardeners

Marine Conservation enthusiast and sometimes writer living and working on Waiheke Island, New Zealand.