Imagery

Kendyl Anderson
KendylSportsPsychology
2 min readDec 15, 2018

Sit. Sit and imagine. Run through every play in your head. Play it out in your head, over and over again.

That’s what we’re always told as athletes. Image everything before it happens so there are no surprises. Sometimes it can be hard to comprehend what they mean by that, how can I imagine something that I have no control of the outcome? It always confused me what they meant by that.

But then one day I was just tried to do it. I picked a play and just played it in my mind. Honestly I was confused, I couldn’t put everything together but I didn’t stop trying. I thought it didn’t work, I thought it was stupid.

The next game day it was going smooth, nothing out of the ordinary. The 7th inning comes around and girls are first and second, there is 1 out. I am on the mound and I pitch a drop-ball. The girl hits it the gap between 3rd and short-shop, nobody knew what to do. But. Me. I knew I had to lead my team to a double play because I had realized that I imagined how this play would work out. I lead my short-shop to third base and my third basemen to back up. They get the out at third, but there was a runner that was still going to second, I demand the short-shop to check second, she checks and see’s the runner almost ready to dip into a head-first dive. she drops her hip and turns to throw to second. And gets the out. If I had never imagined and went over the possible plays in my head that we would never have won this game to take us to the championship.

--

--