Self Talk During a Game*

Kendyl Anderson
KendylSportsPsychology
2 min readDec 14, 2018

That inter voice in your head talking a million miles per hour. Telling you to fix this, change that, why didn’t you see that coming. I’ve been playing softball since I was 6, it’s all that I know. Physically, my body naturally moves to the rhythm the game. Mentally, I’m going over and over technique and errors I am making and trying to correct them. I used to internally beat myself up because I’m not doing my best and giving my all.

Recently I have been working on my self talk especially for during the game. When I am on that pitching mound I have to completely clear my mind. It’s physically more exhausting to wipe my mind from all thoughts then actually going to the motions of a pitch. One thing my pitching coach always tells me is that “The more you repeat this motion, the less you have to think.” I never understood what she meant by this. I couldn’t process what she was saying. How could I stand on that mound and essentially just not think?

On my next game day I decided to think openly about what she told me. I got up on the mound and just stopped. I stopped the voice in my head. I stopped it from saying what I need to fix. I stopped it from telling me what I was doing wrong. I stopped it from going a million miles. I just breathed and threw the ball. I felt oddly refreshed and came to understand what she meant. I can’t let my mind send me on this rollercoaster ride of thoughts because it effects my performance while playing.

I just have to let go and throw it.

--

--