The Benefits of Sports Psychology for Athletes

Kendyl Anderson
KendylSportsPsychology
2 min readDec 15, 2018

There is so many things that can benefit athletes. From the best trainers to the newest equipment. But something most people don’t talk about, is the mental state of athletes.

Sports are really hard on people. Coaches, teammates, and parents. It can become overwhelming especially for young athletes. As a young athlete myself, researching deep into the topic of sport psychology has help me realize some the things I need to work better on for my mental state if I’m going to continue to play sports. Putting time into the research of this topic has help me learn how to grow confidence, improve focus, find my right zone, and help me deal with distractions. I believe we need to focus more on especially younger athletes when it comes to their mindset’s. And one of my previous articles I talk about anxiety in sports for professional athletes and even young up-and-coming athletes. In the post I talk about how parents can be such a problem when it comes to young kids playing sports, can’t believe they have so much to show to the parents when it comes to playing games that they choke up and don’t understand why this happens to them when it comes to playing. They become overwhelmed with the pressure put on them by coaches and parents that they start to say things that they normally wouldn’t like wanting to quit their beloved sport. Not only that I also wrote on the topic of Time management because it is always been something I’ve struggled with. Beloved sport. Not only that I also wrote on the topic of Time management because it is always been something I’ve struggled with. I wrote about how many managing time and scheduling out you are a Vance can help you become such a better athlete. In the end sports psychology is one of the most important thing to comes to sports and we must focus more on it if we want our athletes to become the best they can and to prosper.

--

--