Does social media take up too much of my day?

I tracked my social media use over the span of three days, Sept. 14–16 to find out how crazed is my social media use really is.

The majority of my social media use came from:

When it came time for this assignment, to create a social media diary for at least three days, I was scared at what I might find out about my media habits. Before beginning tracking my social media use, I was aware that I can tend to get caught up in scrolling on social media platforms, watching YouTube videos, or just spending too much time aimlessly online due to boredom. But, there’s also times when social media has been my go-to take a break from studying or at times an attempt to escape my mind from getting a big project or assignment done, for example. However, as the school year has started and I’ve taken on a much heavier credit load and job duties as a leader in student media, little by little I got better in managing my time on social media nowadays.

After tracking my time on social media, I was not surprised that the apps I use again and again each day are: Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, and YouTube. I found that every morning, not only do I check the notifications on my phone’s home screen but I lay in bed for an average of 10–15 minutes sometimes, giving each of those four apps their turn of screen time. Whether it’s checking Twitter to find out the day’s trending topics, or seeing what my family is up to on Facebook, there’s always a time that I check those platforms before getting my day started. Other main reasons why I find myself logging in on my main four social media favorites, I’m either commenting on friend’s photos on Instagram, retweeting Marquette Wire on Twitter, or interacting my relatives on Facebook.

As of recently, Twitter and Instagram seemed to be the platforms I operate on the most whether it’s for leisure or promotions of events and news for my job. Then, the most common times I discovered I was on social media would also be when my Twitter notifications went off for the posts by student media occasionally because I have notifications for those pages turned on. Lastly, I learned that I’m on social media when alone, as maybe an independent activity unless I was showing one of my friends a funny meme or video I found while scrolling online.

--

--