Thumb-Stopping Content

Like many of my fellow ADPR 4300 classmates, the content that I consider to be “thumb-stopping” tends to cater around my interests or end up being things that my family and friends encourage me to check out. I’ve found that Instagram and Twitter are the main social networks where my thumb-stopping incidences occur after stumbling upon content I find is the most intriguing: trending celebrity fashion, comedy, music and poetry.

I’m a huge fan checkout the “best-dressed” photo galleries at award shows and may veer off my current task and become distracted at stunning gowns and evening attire. But, I’m not guilty about it at all. A great example of thumb-stopping content that catches my eye in the midst of scrolling my Insta-feed, was Zendaya’s emerald, green gown she wore at this year’s Emmy red carpet. Because she’s a style icon, and my fashion inspiration, this didn’t catch me by surprise!

Since scrolling on my Instagram feed can get boring after a while or may be an activity I find myself resorting to during the day to take a break from life’s busyness, every time a post from @morganharpernichols appears on my screen, I’m attentive to it and end up taking a moment stay right there. This account is run by singer and poet, Morgan Harper Nichols, who became Insta-famous for publishing and posting original inspirational pieces of art accompanied by quotes of encouragement.

When new content from comedians @johnbcrist or @treynkennedy pop up on my Instagram feed, their content is thumb-stopping because their posts mostly include original hilarious comedic sketches and videos. Below is a screenshot of a collaboration both of them made of a parody based off of a Bible story.

--

--