Congratulations! CS3216 evolved into…

Kent Nguyen
Kent’s CS3216 Blog
3 min readAug 7, 2016

… Software Product Engineering for Digital Markets!

Surely I’m not the only one noticing the name change.

Hmm probably not everyone.

There are two differences. The first, and more easily noticeable change is Evolving Platforms become Digital Markets. It’s justifiable as those platforms (not you, Google Wave) have become significantly more matured, ever since CS3216 began its first iteration almost a decade ago (the oldest blog post on CS3216 I could find dates back to Semester 2, 2007/2008, of course by the legendary Prof. Ben Leong).

The more subtle second difference is perhaps a better description of the module itself: Software Product Engineering replaces Software Development. As stated in the Call for Registration email, “CS3216 is not just for programmers,” the Product side of software development is crucial, which requires serious collaboration between coders, businessmen/women and designers. Thus I’m happy the course name finally reflects that aspect.

This brings up the first thing I want to achieve from this module:

Learn more about Product Management

It’s unwise to work nonstop towards something other people might not want. I learned it the hard way during my one-year leave of absence working at a startup. Therefore I‘d love to have some more insight on this subject.

Reduce my fear of working with other humans

Okay it’s not that bad. I could say I learned a thing or two regarding effective teamwork during the one-year break. However, working with other people is a skill that can always be improved, and I hope CS3216 can help me take a step further.

Beat Blank page Syndrome

I detest writing.

I’d rather do this.

I actually want to write, but the idea of sitting down, facing a pale white empty document on the screen already makes my mind a complete blank.

Not this time, as CS3216 forces me to write every week. I even created a publication on Medium! I’d say that’s some initial success.

Finally get down to do something great

I bought an Arduino board a long time ago. But I haven’t done anything serious with it yet.

I have a nice Ukulele. Concert size. Sounds great. But I still can’t play a full song with it.

I own a few metal yoyos, the ones used in professional competitions. But I didn’t have time to practice and learn more yoyo tricks.

Or so I thought.

I realize I’ve been procrastinating my whole life. I could have taken CS3216 during Year 2, but I didn’t. I could have applied for NOC, but I was too lazy to apply.

I regretted missing all the things I could have done. That was why I decided to take the one-year break when my startup called: I couldn’t afford to skip any more opportunity.

Needless to say, it was worth it. I rediscovered my reason to code: to make something great.

And this is also my ultimate aim signing up for CS3216. It’s time for me to evolve.

Looking forward to the first lesson tomorrow!

--

--