In The Middle Of The Desert

Marlo Perez
The Encounters
Published in
2 min readOct 11, 2014

--

Taxi drivers:

Usually or most of the times here in Dammam, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia the mode of transportation is taxi. Whether you will on a mall or a nearby city you will need a taxi cab or you will have to not enjoy the ride in a bus if you preferred that. So most of the times we just ride the taxi. And I have some of the nicest and not so good conversations with the drivers sometimes.

One of the best maybe among them was this cab driver who was an Indian guy — an old man perhaps in his 50's or 60's. And guess what? He has been driving in the street of the Kingdom for 34 years and counting! Yes almost four decades. I have met him when I rode his vehicle a couple of days ago going to the corniche. And the most surprising truth about him? He is a Catholic!

Another taxi driver that caught my attention was this Pakistani man from Peshawar. We talked about his country and his town and the “war” going on in his native city and why he was in Saudi driving that vehicle. And our 10-minute conversation was put into hold when somebody from his family called him and told that their father has died. I can felt his pain during that time. I can see almost his teary eyes. And I was in my destination that said goodbye to him.

And the last one that caught my attention and memory was this driver from Bangladesh. He was in his 20's. And he was from vacation from his country and a new father to his wife’s newly born. I could feel the joy and the pride and the courage in his eyes and actions. I wish I could be a father too sooner.

So riding in a taxi in this desert nation is somehow interesting and eye-opening experience as long as you are ready to listen. I might write a part two for this article as long as I have remembered some of the unforgettable experience and stories I have heard from the driver I am riding into my destination.

--

--

Marlo Perez
The Encounters

Blogger. MBA graduate. Filipino. Working in Makati. Purchasing professional