This poor farmer needs your urgent help to treat his son’s deadly heart condition #SaveHim

Zaheer Adenwala
Ketto Blog
Published in
3 min readAug 30, 2018

--

Kartik was my little bundle of joy. However, that joy soon turned to sorrow after he was diagnosed with a deadly heart disease.

As my wife carries and sings to her wailing baby, she wonders if she’ll ever get to take our boy home and if he’ll ever be free from this excruciating pain he is living through.

He is just 7- months old and was recently diagnosed with a serious heart condition for which he needs an intensive and complex Open Heart Surgery costing Rs. 2.75 lakh ($ 3,921) to survive.

My name is Tukaram Urade and I’m his father, and I live with my family in Parbhani, Maharashtra, where i work as a farmer. One night, Karthik was coughing restlessly and upon checking I noticed that he had an irregular heartbeat. I panicked and took him to a doctor immediately where he was diagnosed with congenital heart disease and admitted to an ICU for 8 days.

My wife and I feel like the most powerless parents in the world today. With a weak financial background, I am struggling to pay his piling bills. I toil in the fields as a farmer where I earn a mere Rs. 15,000 ($ 230) a month, which helps supports my family consisting of 10 people. I travel for hours daily to various trusts in the hope that I could gather funds for my son’s treatment. However, I always come back empty-handed.

Instead of suffering in the hospital, my son deserves to live like other normal children. He hasn’t harmed anyone and I keep wondering out loud, “why is he being punished?”

A once playful child has now become listless, sad and lacking in spirit. We have sacrificed our life savings, taken loans from friends, mortgaged my wife’s jewellery, and even this has not been enough.

We need the additional finances desperately. His treatment is time-bound, if we delay it he could face drastic consequences. Kartik’s life depends on your support now. Please donate generously to gift him a new life.

The specifics of this case have been verified by the medical team at the concerned hospital. For any clarification on the treatment or associated costs, contact the campaign organizer or the medical team.

Know more about the fundraiser.

Your Support Can Save Karti

--

--