Key Insights from “Make Time” by Jake Knapp and John Zeratsky: Focusing on What Matters Every Day

Jake Knapp and John Zeratsky’s book, Make Time: How to Focus on What Matters Every Day, offers practical strategies to help you reclaim your time and energy.

Make Time Insights from our Team

Highlight Your Day

The Highlight Strategy: Knapp and Zeratsky suggest starting each day by identifying a single highlight — the one thing you want to make sure you accomplish. This helps you focus your energy and attention on what matters most.

Example: Instead of a long to-do list, pick one main task that will make your day feel successful. It could be finishing a work project, spending quality time with family, or finally tackling that home improvement task.

My Experience: When I started using the highlight strategy, I felt more accomplished and less stressed. Knowing my main focus for the day allowed me to prioritize and allocate my time effectively.

Laser Mode

The Importance of Focus: To achieve your daily highlight, you need to enter what the authors call “Laser Mode.” This means eliminating distractions and creating an environment conducive to deep work.

Example: Turn off notifications on your phone, close unnecessary tabs on your computer, and create a quiet workspace. Set a timer for 30 minutes to focus solely on your highlight task.

My Experience: I used to struggle with constant interruptions. By dedicating specific periods to Laser Mode, I found myself being more productive and completing tasks more efficiently.

At Brainlighter, we save you 5000 hours by packing knowledge into actionable growth hacks you can apply in your life.

Get the app here: 👉👉👉 Brainlighter

Energize Yourself

Prioritize Your Well-being: Your energy levels significantly impact your ability to focus. Knapp and Zeratsky emphasize the importance of taking care of your physical and mental health to maintain high energy levels.

Example: Incorporate activities that boost your energy, such as regular exercise, healthy eating, and adequate sleep. Short breaks and outdoor activities can also rejuvenate your mind and body.

Reflect and Adjust

Continuous Improvement: At the end of each day, reflect on what worked and what didn’t. Adjust your strategies accordingly to improve your focus and productivity.

Example: Keep a journal to note down what you accomplished and any obstacles you faced. Use this information to refine your approach for the next day.

My Experience: Journaling helped me identify patterns in my productivity. By reflecting on my daily activities, I could see what habits supported my goals and which ones needed to change.

Make Time for What Matters

Quality Over Quantity: The authors argue that it’s not about doing more tasks but doing the right tasks. Focus on what truly matters and let go of the rest.

Example: Instead of multitasking, dedicate time to meaningful activities that align with your values and long-term goals.

My Experience: I realized that spending uninterrupted time with my family was more fulfilling than trying to juggle multiple tasks. This shift in perspective helped me prioritize better.

Design Your Day

Create a Routine: Design your day around your highlight and Laser Mode sessions. Establish routines that support your focus and well-being.

Example: Start your morning with a routine that sets the tone for the day. This could include meditation, a healthy breakfast, and reviewing your daily highlight.

My Experience: A consistent morning routine helped me start the day with a clear mind and a positive attitude. It became easier to dive into my highlight and maintain focus.

Growth Hackers,

@bear_in_the_dark - Growth Hackers

--

--

@bear_in_the_dark - Growth Hackers
Key Insights from Books

Personal Growth Hacking and Language learning is our passion. Our Flagman-apps are Brainlighter for Better Life and Metkagram. We share a lot. Join us