Lee Pace: queer man lifestyle

KeYou Official
KeYou
Published in
2 min readAug 5, 2019

It has been a year since Lee Pace, “Driven” star came out last. As the time passed, he decided to share more details and uncover some of the details of private life that are usually kept in secret. In the interview to Marc Malkin (The Big Ticket) he remembered:

“I’ve always felt very safe, you know? I was in the drama department in high school. I went to Julliard. I’ve been playing queer characters. My first movie I played a trans character,” Pace explained. “I’ve never felt the danger of that, you know? So, to walk in the shoes of someone who that danger is so real that he can’t utter it, it taught me something about myself and about my community… We’re not all so lucky to get the free pass in life.”

Lee akso pointed out that “As a member of the queer community, I understand the importance of living openly, being counted, and happily owning who I am. That’s how I’ve always lived my life… just as it’s been important to me to portray queer characters with dignity for my entire career.” At the same time, queer people have not only to overcome mistreatment from the society, but sometimes even be tolerant to each other. “As a community, we can be very unkind to each other, I feel like,” Pace said.

At the same time, the actor starred LGBTQ people in numerous films thus for sure being experienced in representing community he belongs to. Aside of Angels, Pace played roles in “A Soldier’s Girl”, “Halt and Catch Fire”, and the Broadway revival of “The Normal Heart”. His professional career corresponded personal life. Lee dated both men and women in his life and felt affectionate for the relationship. His queerness has expressed relatively early. “I’ve always felt very safe, you know? I was in the drama department in high school. I went to Julliard. I’ve been playing queer characters. My first movie I played a trans character,” Lee emphasized. In his most recent role of Joe Pitt’s character tried to bring together attraction to men, Mormon religion, and Republican ideology. That is the case when being queer could help both to play naturally and express the cgaracter deeper.

--

--