I tried Midjourney- and it gave me a catfish on a carpet.

Ridia Chang
AI Keytalk Blog
Published in
3 min readFeb 6, 2023
/imagine (prompt) pastel tone sketch of jindo dog and tabby cat relaxing on a lazy sunday afternoon

Artificial Intelligence (AI) Image Generation refers to the use of machine learning algorithms to generate new, synthetic images based on existing data. This technology has the ability to create an unlimited number of images for various applications, such as product visualization, data augmentation, and art creation.

Chat GPT was quite the buzz for content writers these few months, and it sparked my interest to try out new AI products- like Midjourney. My first prompt was a photo of a jindo dog with a butterfly on its nose.

imagine jindo dog with butterfly on nose

I was really surprised because this is pretty similar to what I expected. Of course photo four looks more like a fox than a dog, but dogs do originate from jackals anyway…

korean mixed breed with point ears…

I got a bit ambitious and asked Midjourney to make me a picture of a “white korean mixed breed with pointy ears and round eyes” — (I was thinking of a dog) rolling on a carpet with a mackerel tabby cat sitting next to it.

So it turns out AI will give you freakishly realistic images of strange things, if you’re not careful about the prompts you enter. Using the AI was a lot of fun, and honestly it has some really good ideas and images you can get if you’re just careful enough with your words.

As a writer, having AI tools that help make images in a matter of seconds is a pretty good deal when it comes to thinking up ideas for the next blog post I write. Especially so because if you pay for a subscription, you can even use the photos for commercial purposes too.

Honestly, prices aren’t too expensive either. I plan on testing out a few more generative models for fun before I subscribe to this one, but for my first try at AI art- it was quite the experience.

Pros: fast, entertaining, and creative + quite affordable.

Cons: must be strictly specific with prompts, lots of users making the whole experience a bit uncomfortable.

I’m even considering writing stories based off the AI artwork, seeing if I can make a story for something it spits out for me- so make sure to check in for the next AI experiement!

--

--