Car Seat Headrest’s cover of Talking Heads “This must be the place (Naive Melody)” is my favorite thing I got for Christmas.

Dominic Fawcett
Khene Zine
Published in
2 min readDec 25, 2016

Few songs rip me apart from end to end while simultaneously giving me an overwhelming will to live. “This must be the place” is definitely at the top of that very short list. I’m so obsessed with this song. I’m one of those assholes that reads into LCD Soundsystem’s “Home” as if it’s a sequel to the original song. I believed the rumors that James Murphy says “Home” the same amount of times that David Byrne did in the beginning of his version (he doesn’t by the way, I counted). Hopefully this paints a picture of how much I love this song. Now let’s throw in the fact that for many reasons I believe that Cart Seat Headrest’s new album should be considered for album of the year. The album showcases the band’s ability to glide through genres with ease, borrowing aspects from early Modest Mouse and vocal patterns from James Murphy and still managing to tell some of the most relatable and insanely compelling stories with some of the best lyrics Iv’e heard in the last 3 years. Needless to say, my hands were shaking with joy (and alcohol withdrawals…. It’s been a long week, fuck you don’t look at me like that). Just press play, you’ll get it. And Happy Holidays.

-Dominic Fawcett-

“I can’t tell one from the other I find you, or you find me? There was a time before we were born
If someone asks, this is where I’ll be”

--

--