The XX “Dangerous”

Christopher S. Riley
Khene Zine
Published in
2 min readJan 15, 2017

Album opener “Dangerous” is an early stand out for me on the new XX I See You (though my favorite right now might be “A Violent Noise”). It’s a more than fitting opener. Yes, it’s a dance-y fun song that works as a classic opener but, more importantly, it makes me think of the responses to their last album.

The group’s second album Coexist had lukewarm responses from fans despite the fact that band member Jamie XXs’ remixes of the two tracks “Sunset” and “Reconsider” had very enthusiastic responses. When the singles were released I remember reading comments along the lines of “better than the whole album” and “should have let Jamie remix the whole album.” I See You’s opener, “Dangerous”, is reminiscent of those two tracks. I’m not sure if it was intentional, but it feels like they opened their new album by saying, “this is what you wanted, right? cool here it is, now let us get back to doing what we wanted to do.” And thankfully for most, it seems that what they want to do and what fans want them to do is actually in harmony this time around.

--

--