Interview — Jared Koreski — Director of Customer Experience at Beaxy Exchange

Khilone
Khilone
Published in
5 min readApr 10, 2019

What is your name, function and role at Beaxy?

My name is Jared and I am the director of customer experience at Beaxy. Our department is ultimately responsible for resolving customer issues and continually turning your feedback into a better customer experience through UX/UI updates, proper staffing levels, and effective internal processes.

How did you first learn about Bitcoin and the crypto space?

I come from an IT background so Bitcoin naturally founds its way onto my radar. I’ve known of Bitcoin’s existence since 2011 or so but never really dove into the technical side until around 2013 or so. At the time I was seriously considering purchasing ASIC miners and diving in, then Mt. Gox happened and I shelved the idea and went back to focusing on my day job. When the market started heating up in early 2017 I couldn’t resist.

Which aspects of Bitcoin and the crypto space made you choose to explore it more?

Ethereum really opened my eyes to the potential of blockchain technology beyond just decentralized currencies. Researching projects that had the power to disrupt a vast array of different industries and foundational societal systems like voting is what really made me commit.

Did you work at anything crypto related before you joined Beaxy?

Unfortunately no. I wish I had made the plunge earlier but opportunities never presented themselves. I was an active crypto trader before joining Beaxy though.

How did you learn about Beaxy?

I actually met Artak through a trading group meetup we were both part of. Our passionate hatred for lousy exchange experiences made us quick friends.

When did you join Beaxy and why?

I joined Beaxy in November of 2017. I had been pondering a career change out of systems administration and one day just decided I needed to simply quit my job and see what happens. The same day, I remembered that guy Artak from the meetup 2 months prior and simply asked him if he needed any help with the exchange he was building. I think his exact words were “I’m sure we can find something to keep you busy.”

How does a typical work day look like for you?

There is a ton of collaboration with other teams since our department overlaps with every other in so many different ways. I’m generally working towards making our department easily scalable with a very strong foundation of capable team members that can continually assist in strengthening that foundation well into the future. This involves interviewing and hiring proactively, developing effective training material, and creating support tools that enable our team to effectively and quickly resolve the vast majority of inbound issues.

What would you consider as the greatest joys in the things you do for Beaxy?

Just being able to build something from the ground up is by far the best part of being on this team. You have full ownership of what you do. In IT, you constantly find yourself trying to work on top of someone else’s mess or work around archaic software systems that can’t be removed for one reason or another. So Beaxy is a breath of fresh air for me, for sure.

What’s the moment that made you most proud so far at Beaxy?

That’s a tough question. We’ve had so many small victories that all add up to where we are now. If you’re going to twist my arm, I would have to say how incredibly positive and excited everyone was when they first got their hands on our beta and we started cranking up the number of bots that were trading. People loved it and that makes me proud of our team, especially our developers.

In your own words how would you describe Beaxy?

We are a group of crypto community members that came together to build something we all desperately wanted: A new exchange. So this truly is built for and by the community. We take our own experiences, listen to the rest of the communities’ frustrations all over the internet, and we turn that into Beaxy. That is Beaxy.

Do you see any room for improvements in Bitcoin and crypto?

Adoption adoption adoption. If we want crypto to improve and evolve further, we all need to lend a hand in growing adoption at an individual level. Educate, handhold someone through creating their first wallet, create educational material for the masses, write congressmen and senators to make laws at the state and federal level more crypto friendly, anything. Every little bit helps.

Do you see any room for improvements for exchanges and how do you think Beaxy is going to solve them?

I think a lot of big exchanges learned a ton of lessons from the tsunami of new users and volume in 2017. We still need better support, better performance, better uptime, and better tools. Beaxy is trying to improve on all those things, especially tools. Order types, tax friendly documents, profit and loss calculators… we’re just getting started.

What is the thing that drives and motivates you to build a better exchange every single day?

The team I sit next to every day. If I’m not feeling very motivated, all I have to do is look 5 feet to my left or right. Drive and focus are contagious.

What’s your future vision for Beaxy and what is the thing you hope to achieve in the long-term for Beaxy?

I would love to see Beaxy being a primary investor in general blockchain adoption. As I said before, it’s all about adoption. As an exchange, we are well poised to foster it in every way.

When will Beaxy have succeeded in your opinion?

When I have to hire someone to hire employees to hire employees :D.

And I would like to end with giving an opportunity to say anything you still want to say to the community or in general

To all the friends and crypto folks from the interwebs that told me what I was doing was exciting and hope that we succeed, thank you from the bottom of my heart. None of us would be so dedicated if it weren’t for your continued words of encouragement.

Thanks a lot, Jared for taking the time to answer all of the questions and sharing all of this information. Follow Jared on Twitter here.

You can find all of my interviews here: https://medium.com/khilone/interviews/home

Khilone

Follow me on Twitter to get all the news right away: https://twitter.com/Khil0ne

And be sure to read all my stories on Medium over here:
https://medium.com/khilone

Other things to keep your eyes on:

--

--

Khilone
Khilone

Writing articles about Stratis Platform, Beaxy Exchange and Crypto in general — https://twitter.com/Khil0ne