Quick win or loyalty?

Stevie Münzner
KickAss Nation
Published in
2 min readFeb 14, 2016

I was recently in Singapore for the weekend. What an absolutely amazing city.

I was totally shocked by the size of this city and that you don’t hear the traffic. Crazy shit!

In case you haven’t been there make sure you don’t miss the amazing food at Lau Pa Sat, Orchard road with its crazy shopping malls, China Town, Little India, the beautiful Marina Bay and the highest open air bar in the world ‚1Altitude‘.

When I was walking around I noticed one thing.

Many people were trying to sell me something. Whether it was tissues at the food market, actual food in China town, clothes at the street market or entrance to some bar where I could enjoy great drinks and live music.

The thing that struck me was, that those trying to sell me something were very upfront. They told me exactly what I would get if I gave in.

Didn’t convince me of course. Did not trust them.

When Warby Parker (an American brand of prescription eyeglasses and sunglasses founded in 2010) released it’s first annual report it led to their three biggest sales days at the time. Something that was designed to delight customers became an accidental marketing tool. (Thanks, Bernadette Jiwa for sharing — us Kick Ass Boys love you)

„It very much fit into our philosophy of being transparent. We find the more information we share, the more vulnerable we are, and that sharing the positive and the warts — the deeper relationships we build with our customers.“ - Neil Blumenthal - Co-Founder Warby Parker

Bernadette asked what would happen if we would optimise our businesses, our organizations and our cultures for relationships first and results second?

Should we focus less on creating awareness and more on generating trust? YES!

Bernadette suggests to trade quick wins for loyalty. YES!

Remember

It does not matter what you look at.

It matters what you see.

--

--

Stevie Münzner
KickAss Nation

‘personality coach, thinker, attention trader, social media strategist, rulebreaker, cultural changemaker, music producer’ / Senior Consultant & Partner @bci.de