Black Bean Chili

Kailee Walters
2 min readOct 13, 2018

--

Chilly outside means chili inside over at my place!!

I love how chili is a dish that spans multiple seasons. In the spring and summer it’s baseball games accompanied by chili fries, and in the fall and winter it’s a cold, gloomy day paired with chili and fuzzy blankets. Chili is a dish that sees no seasonal boundaries, really. Another reason to love it.

Chili is one of those recipes you almost can’t mess up because it’s so malleable. I actually don’t think you can mess this up?? The amount of variations that exist are limitless, but that doesn’t mean I’m not going to share with you this foolproof, insanely simple one-pot chili I made to compliment the lightning-charged rain storms we’re having in Southern California right now.

Black Bean Chili

Things I used:

  • 2 tbsp organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1/2 yellow onion, diced
  • 1/2 red onion, diced
  • 1 large carrot, shredded
  • 1 yellow squash, diced
  • 1 jalapeño, chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic: I use this garlic press! I love using a press because I find that the more I can break down the garlic, the more flavor I get out of it.
  • 2 tbsp pure tomato paste: The only ingredients in the tomato paste I use are organic tomatoes and sea salt! That’s a score, baby. No added sugars here!!
  • 3 roma tomatoes
  • 2 16oz cans no/low sodium black beans: If the nutrition label’s sodium per serving is over 100mg, protect your heart look for a different can!!
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne powder
  • 1/4 tsp cumin powder
  • 2 tbsp onion powder
  • Crushed black pepper

How I did it:

Turn the stove on to heat your pot

After preparing all of your vegetables, add the olive oil into the pot and let that heat

Add in the onions and jalapeño and sauté until the onions are translucent

Add everything else in and allow the mixture to come to a boil

Reduce to a simmer, cover with a lid, and serve

Top with some green onion if you’re feeling fancy

Enjoy this chili with some Lavash multi-seed crackers from Culinary Tours if you’re really looking for a good time!

Originally published at kaileewalters.squarespace.com on October 13, 2018.

--

--