About Me

Megan Burns
Killer Designs
Published in
2 min readFeb 7, 2018

As a communications major with a unique set of interests, it is not often that I get to dwell on them all. I hope that in the making of Killer Designs, I can reach others like me, who have unique interests in both design and murder.

Taken in Greenville, IL

Archetecture and design has always been an interest of mine. Being a communications major, I have gotten the chance to dabble a bit in the world of design. I find the way that people interact with designed objects to be fascinating. In a single episode of Killer Designs, I will go through the design history and intended use of a designed object.

The second half of the podcast will take a turn. Being also interested in murder, more specifically serial killers, I will share the unique ways that designed objects are used for things other than their intended purpose. Some episodes may be graphic, so if you have a weak stomach, I am cautioning you now.

The inspiration of my podcast has come from two specific podcasts, that I strongly suggest you explore. The first, a design podcast, 99% invisible. The second, a folklore podcast, Lore.

Killer Design is a 5–10 minute podcast series, produced bi-weekly. All episodes are written, recorded, and edited by me.

If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Thank you for reading, and I hope you enjoy Killer Designs.

-Megan

--

--