The 3 Golden Rules of Working From Home

Kim Ford
Bliss
Published in
4 min readJun 2, 2020
Ghost, my English Golden Retriever

I can work from home. I’m lucky.

According to HRA Advisors, “Only 23% of American workers can perform their jobs at full productivity from home.”

To be productive and successful working from home, I realized I needed to make some changes to maximize my potential.

Look = Feel

A few weeks back, when I first started working from home, I caught myself wearing pajamas in the middle of the afternoon. I swear this wasn’t intentional. My afternoon PJ’s were the outcome of rolling out of bed at six a.m. and working non-stop. It was a mistake. My mornings became my evenings, and pretty soon, I couldn’t remember what day of the week it was.

Once I realized what I was doing, I didn’t stop the new routine of rolling out of bed into my home office, but I did begin to set the ‘get dressed’ alarm. At eight a.m., my alarm goes off, and I’m alerted to shower and start fresh. This forced break furnished new thoughts and ideas, and I felt reinvigorated when I restarted.

I had to force myself to put on pants, but it’s essential!

Having a nice appearance makes me sit up straighter and feel more confident, which can lead to better productivity.

John Hall, Senior Contributor, Forbes, writes, “Self-Care Isn’t Just Good For You — It’s Also Good For Your Productivity.”

I don’t need to wear a suit every day. I can wear what makes me feel comfortable and enables me to feel good about myself. For me, my WFH outfit of choice is a cotton sleeveless shirt and super soft joggers.

It’s also vital that I write down my routine and use it as my daily plan. Here’s a peek at mine:

  1. Tessa (my tiny Pomeranian) jumps on my bed and licks my face or tries to steal my scrunchy, like clockwork — 6 am every day.
  2. I roll out of bed, disliking Tessa for waking me up but retrieve her big sister (Ghost) from my youngest daughter, Remington’s, room. Then, I follow both of them downstairs and let them outside.
  3. Grind the coffee and start the brew.
  4. Retrieve the dogs and coffee and head to the home office.
  5. Check emails and respond to anything pressing (30 minutes max)
  6. Plan today. If I have a lot of meetings in the morning, I will do this the night before. I open up my custom Journal template in GoodNotes5 on my iPad and write down the three things I must accomplish today. As other tasks come to mind, I jot them down in the todo section. I also carry over tasks from the previous day.
  7. 8 am- take a break, shower, and dress for the day.
My WFH Sanctuary

Creating My Sanctuary

In a family of six, I had to have a dedicated workspace. I’m lucky to have a home office, but my husband does not. Unfortunately, my husband got relegated to the basement. Seeing outside and being able to open the window are must-haves for me.

I love being able to bring the outdoors in. Adding a plant on my workspace was the perfect solution!

According to WebMD, “Plants cannot only brighten your surroundings but also lift your mood. Employees who work in offices with plants tend to feel better about their jobs, worry less, and take fewer sick days.”

Next, I filled my workspace with everything I need to do my job — just as if I was at my office! At the beginning of my WFH adventure, I went to the office to get some office supplies. What I couldn’t get from the office, I ordered from Amazon. My goal was to maximize productivity, not to have a bunch of unfinished items creating a bottleneck because I don’t have what I need.

What can I add to my workspace to bring me joy?

After my supplies were delivered and put away, I had to add what brings me joy to my space. For me, that’s a place for my dogs and my extra-large diffuser. Most days, I mix the scents of Bergamot and Patchouli. Every once in awhile, I need a pick me up and diffuse Eucalyptus or Grapefruit.

I had already purchased a sit/stand desk. Having the flexibility to change my environment at the push of a button is especially helpful on a rainy day.

Stop Instead of Pause

We all tend to keep going, even when our mind or body tells us to stop.

Gigi Falk, writer for Thrive Global, states, “Simply listening to the quiet voice that longs for presence and fulfillment has the power to transform the quality of a life.”

Instead of pausing work to take a break, I had to learn to stop altogether. Lock my computer, close the lid, close the door to my home office, or leave the house. Disconnect my mind from work.

I promise, work will not run away.

My breaks have to consist of something unrelated to business. I will take a walk, prepare lunch, call a friend, or read. I do me! Just whatever I do, I have to stop working. I try my best to build in breaks three times a day, around twenty minutes each. I find getting fresh air and exercise rewards me with a sharp mind and new ideas.

Build hard stops into your routine, and do not compromise.

By following the Golden Rules of Working From Home, I have been able to create a sustainable and healthy environment for my mind, unlocking my fullest potential.

--

--

Kim Ford
Bliss
Editor for

Serial Entrepreneur |Tech Founder | Speaker | Writer |Mom | Fitness Enthusiast |Cook |Commercial Real Estate Expert