Many happy returns

Carrie Wallis
kin2kin
Published in
2 min readFeb 23, 2020

How do you celebrate your children’s birthdays?

My daughters are about to turn 10. Double digits. It’s a big milestone for all kids, and especially in our family as there’s no lag-time between siblings.

It’s a chance to take stock of how far we’ve come. Taking one day out of the year to make them the main focus and celebrate their place on this earth. Giving them a chance to bask in all the attention and their specialness. And there’s nothing like panic icing a cake at 1am on the morning of your child’s birthday to make you feel like a “real” parent!!

I’m the first to admit that I go a little OTT for their day of birth but, I have vivid memories of the wonderful parties, cakes and feelings of specialness that my Mum and Dad created for me on my birthday and I want the same for my girls. (Plus as they’re twins I only get one chance a year and feel I can perhaps cite economies of scale?!)

We’ve had a pussy cat and bunny rabbit, cupcakes, ladybirds and buzzy bees, princesses, rainbow fun, a fairy tea party, DIY decoration and a teepee sleepover. The ideas for this year’s festivities include a beach luau or roller disco…

I’m lucky that we have some fabulous photographers in our immediate family so there’s always some special shots to upload to kin2kin to save the precious memories of these fun times down for each girl.

Plus the new Sourcing functionality makes it easy to create a complete set of these memories year upon year — if their birth dates are loaded into kin2kin you can quickly find the photos from the birthday parties that you enjoyed before you started using kin2kin.

What are your family’s rituals for celebrating your kids’ birthdays?

--

--