Did you ever ask yourself: “Am I happy with my work?” Probably yes! And I did…

Jorge Ramos
Published in
3 min readNov 7, 2019

--

Hi, my name is Jorge and I’ve been an IT Technician for the past 14 years. My day-to-day was to maintain, troubleshoot and repair computers and also provide remote support. When I recently asked myself that same question, my answer was completely the opposite. Day by day I was starting to feel like I had no motivation, I felt like I really needed a radical change in my career.

Finding the north
Photo by Jamie Street

Sometimes it’s difficult to leave your comfort zone, I know, I’ve been there. After my wife made a successful career shift to be an OutSystems developer, she influenced me to give a try. I started the online OutSystems academy on my own, studied a couple of weeks. I quickly realized it would be easier if I join an academy. Made an online search for OutSystems Academies and found a couple of them.

A few interviews later, a company who stood out for me was KinetIT. With a young team, the company was growing like a rocket ship. Accessing the pros and cons, I took the decision to get on board. Quit my full-time job to embrace this new chapter in my life.

KinetIT allowed me to join their Training academy, closely followed by their best-certified mentors. Everyone is always offering you help, and they spent extra time to help you whenever you need. No doubt, this internal culture makes you feel welcomed and part of the team.

The Academy itself:

The overall experience at KinetIT Academy could not be better! Since the first day, I found a very intuitive and well-organized program. The trainers are always available to support you, they constantly bring you challenges. I felt as part of the team since the very beginning. The learning path is fairly easy, with a lot of examples and exercises and useful workshops. The final goal is to build an app or service. Mine was to build an app to be used internally by the company.

After successfully finishing the academy, the moment I was waiting for has finally come. I was assigned to a real project and made part of a team responsible to build and implement a Back office that will positively affect all the company’s clients.

Although only 8 months have passed since I decided to join the KinetIT Academy I’ve managed to become a Certifed OutSystems developer and worked at two of the oldest and largest Outsystems code factories. Saying this, I consider that I took one of the best decisions of my professional life.

And if you ask me “Do you recommend KinetIT training Academy?” Of course, I really do!!! And to all of those that suffer from the same mental block as I did to change current working path I have an advice: take the leap, and you will realize it’s well worth it!

Photo by Lucas Allmann

--

--