--

FAMILY: my reality or my possibility…

Have you ever heard someone talk about their family in a formal gathering? It sounds so sweet doesn’t it? How about the gist about some conversation an individual had with some member of their family? You may almost conclude that families are a place for everyone to want to be — a beautiful place. Don’t you dare begin to think that your family is different. I bet you’ve sometimes blown your family out of proportion too. Maybe it’s a natural phenomenon. Like everyone just has this beautiful picture of their families alive somewhere in their mind, and whenever the opportunity to say something about their family comes knocking, what comes out is what they wish their family really is rather than reality. You know the daddy loves mummy, sister loves brother picture just get painted by their choice of words and some of us may just begin to think that our family problems are rather unusual when placed beside the beauty of what others paint theirs to be.

Question is can that wish, that family picture, ever become a reality?

Answer is I don’t know.

But common let’s look into it a bit closer, we just might come up with something. Have you ever heard of “believing is seeing”? According to that rule, what I believe is what I see, meaning if I can believe it then I can be it. If I can picture my family with so much love and happiness then it may as well just be at least as happy. The deal is if I can conceive it in my mind, then it’s a possibility. I’m not saying reality, but possibility. Point is if I can create a picture of what I really want my family to be then I can say to myself that I know what I should be getting from my family even though I may not be getting it presently. That’s like saying I know the end right from the beginning. Sounds like God don’t it?

I may not know how to get there, but, in the least, I know where there is. You also know where there is. We’re not talking about who has to do what and who is not doing what, but we’re talking about the fact that we know what the real picture of family should look like. If you haven’t already, I want you to create a picture of what you know or would want your family to look like. I must warn you that this article is not for people who have happy families, or who have had their pictures become reality already. This article is for those of us who have never had family as a place to lay our heads or a place where we wanna be. Some of us who have lived in a place where we’ve had to hate some members of our family or where some so called member of our family has been a continuous source of pain, sorrow and discomfort. Where memories we have just bring tears to our eyes.

Just come along with me and create a picture of what you’ve always secretly hoped for your family to be. You may want to go a step further and write down as well what you obviously do not want your family to be. It may hurt still when we reminisce on what we have about our families, and what we’re penning down. The gap just seems so wide and irreconcilable and some may just want to say…

What you think or plan is always different from eventual happening or reality. Yes and true but who could have thought that the savior nailed to the cross could be the source of salvation to the world or means of reconciliation back to God. The gap between God and man was very wide after the fall, remember? You know I have this business plan to take a loan of fifty bucks, invest it into some sales and make a 100 in two days. Sounds like a great idea, don’t it. 100% profit in two days. However good it may sound, it won’t be that good, because we haven’t taken into consideration the unforeseen circumstances of the effort I’d have to put into making the 100-percent-profit-in-two-days business a reality. Believe me; life itself can feel so obscure and discouraging at times, but if we press on despite the opposition, we would surely overcome. It may not seem like it, and the 100% may not come through at once. You may have an initial of, say 50–70% , or maybe even less but with diligence and constant belief in our dreams, we will get there.

What I’m trying to say is that if I believe in my family picture long enough and work hard towards it, it will become a reality. Before I close this article, I’m going to talk to you about the two things that can make your family picture a reality. Not because they’re easy, but because they are possible. Let me tell you quickly that the devil has hidden the secrets of family happiness in this lie, “Give up on them; they don’t deserve you” , “Don’t stress yourself up trying to settle quarrels among members of your family, because while you’re settling this one , another is already welling up.”

Many have bought these lies straight from the pit of hell, and have as such lived out of the word of God that promises that we will abide in pleasant places of rest. I know what I’m saying is not as easy as it sounds, but I’m also aware that it’s true. God never gave up on us, did he?

And don’t even think about telling me that he is God that’s why, because

“…Ye are gods, sons of the most high”

“…be ye perfect as your Heavenly father is perfect”

“…as we behold him as like a mirror, we become transformed into the likeness of him”

For as long as we’re saved, we can exhibit the attributes of God our father. In short,

  1. Never give up on your family or on any of its members.
  2. Keep on showing love to your members and making effort to see that love takes root even if it looks like it isn’t working. Keep your head up high, and ensure that you encourage yourself in the lord, because it may sometimes get discouraging and delayed.

--

--