THE REFLECTION SERIES

Powers & Control

William R Horne
The Kingdom Dreamers
7 min readJan 4, 2023

--

Photo by Sivani Bandaru on Unsplash

How do I handle events outside of my control? This is a question I honestly have given much extended thought. I was taught that “I am the master of my fate, I am the captain of my soul” (Invictus by Henley). Taught that I had the power to change the world and could “do anything I put my mind to.” Life is mine to grab and take, I am in control. Indeed, at my social location in this world as a “white” male in these yet-to-be United States of America, I have been afforded and have access to a plethora of choices in life, all with a decent sized safety-net if my choices don’t work out as planned. A level of risk has been afforded to me. So, “I am the master of my fate, I am the captain of my soul.” Take, grab, control.

And yet, I was taught, “No, you’re not the master of your fate; you are not the captain of your soul. God is! God is in control.” What’s wrong with the world is people trying to captain their own ships. Submit to God. Don’t question anything that happens to you. Don’t question the leaders put over you. Don’t question the suffering around you. Don’t ask why? It’s God’s will. Suck it up and hope God has predestined it to work out for your good. Or something like that.

So, am I in control or not? Contradictions make for interesting theology.

--

--

William R Horne
The Kingdom Dreamers

Putting up writing reps while trying to evoke and nourish new ways of seeing God, ourselves, others, and the world.