Material Design Box Shadow

Material Design Box Shadow

King Rayhan
KingRayhan
Published in
2 min readSep 28, 2017

--

One of the things that Google revealed at the Google I/O 2014 was the new visual language for all their apps, services and Android OS — called material design. Together with the keynote they released a living style guide.

I fall in love with google material design, all elements are so eye cachy. Material design box-shadow is specially more fantastic.

In this article I will try to show you how you can implement google material design box-shadow within SASS mixin.

Material Design box shadow by SCSS mixin

Material design box shadow mixin source code

This mixin has 5 parameter 1 ~ 5 for different level shadow depth.

Let’s play with this mixin

Here a create 5 box same height and width(200px * 200px) and then put different shadow dept level to each box class by mboxshadow mixin.

OUTPUT:

material design box shadow mixin by King Rayhan

Material Design box shadow hover

Let’s play material box shadow with in hover effect.

Here two box I created. In first box (.box-6) , for normal circumstances I put box-shadow depth level 1 and for hover effect I put shadow depth level 2.

And for the another box(.box-7) I putted shadow depth level 5 for normal situation and depth level 3 for hover effect.

Now you see, output will be,

OUTPUT:

Hope, my little effort may come in your help. Comment here whatever your feelings about this article.

--

--