A New Perspective

Bracelets
Kinship Dies in Darkness
2 min readSep 11, 2017

So, my Aunt stayed over at my house over the weekend, and I always enjoy when she comes over because she’s honest to a fault. A lot of my family members aren’t big fans of this , but I enjoy the constructive criticism that comes with it. She gives good advice that, even if you dont agree with it, makes you think about what you initially thought.

This brings me to last Saturday, when I was in the car with my Aunt after tagging along to drop my cousin of at a friend’s house in Elk Grove. During the drive back, my Aunt and I talked about my college life. I told her about my indecisiveness concerning what clubs to join, and she gave me some good advice for that. I told her about what classes Im taking and she gave me advice on how to stay ahead. It was a very fruitful discussion. At some point she starts asking about my art, and if I wanted to pursue it further in my college career. “Well,” I said, “in the future I was thinking that I wouldnt care too much where I lived so long as I had a place to hang my hat. And I thought I could use the extra money to..”. She then interrupts me and says that I shouldn’t be making plans that far into the future. It was a reasonable idea, but it still shook me to my core. Maybe because that had been plan for so long. I couldn’t even muster a counter argument because there really wasnt one. So, I sat in the passenger seat dumbfounded, while she explained her position. “You’re going to have a lot of big changes happen in college that are just gonna change your view on thing drastically. I don’t know if your sexually active or not, but that can change how you think. You might want a nice place so you can take a lady over there. One of your old cousins married the first girl who slept with him. Married her not soon after. You’ll just never know until you have experience those changes.” I had no words. My auntie basically told me that a lot of my views will change once I have sex. And it made a lot of sense. So, not only was she able to give me some good advice, but she was able to do so by indirectly asking me if I had sex or not. Honestly, that’s just impressive.

--

--