Why I Choose KIPP in Boyle Heights

KIPP SoCal Public Schools
KIPP SoCal Public Schools
3 min readDec 19, 2017

By Jackie Andrade, a KIPP Promesa Prep Parent

As the Boyle Heights Neighborhood Council, and eventually the Los Angeles City Council, consider whether to approve a new permanent site for KIPP Promesa Prep, I wanted to share my story about the excellent public education the charter elementary school is delivering for my family.

When it came time to enroll our children in school, my husband and I made the choice to join KIPP LA Public Schools because of their reputation of providing a high-quality education coupled with strong character development. My daughter, Esmeralda, and son, Andrew, now both attend KIPP Promesa Prep elementary school in Boyle Heights and are not only thriving in their math and literacy skills, but are also learning to embrace the values of love, grit, integrity, and reflection.

I am grateful that I was able to make this choice because I have seen a profound, positive impact on my children. The teachers and leaders go above and beyond for my family. From the moment I walked onto the KIPP Promesa campus, I felt welcomed and connected to the school. The leadership team listens to me and treats me as an equal partner in my children’s education.

Today, KIPP Promesa operates on two temporary sites, leasing space from Palabra de Vida on Dacotah Street and Soledad School on Dozier. I am willing to travel back and forth between campuses because KIPP is an integral part of our lives and we would feel lost without it, but a single, permanent space would strengthen the culture of the school, provide greater opportunities for our students and community engagement, and ensure a safe and structured environment.

Promesa means “promise” and, as a school, they are promising students, families, and the community that a quality education starting in elementary school will provide a better future. They are promising to nurture students academically, socially, and behaviorally so that they become the leaders of tomorrow. And they are promising to send our students to and through college. Based on my experience with KIPP Promesa over the past couple of years, I know that they will deliver on these promises.

My children are at the level they need to be academically because KIPP won’t let them fall behind. The teachers are invested in their students’ futures and are willing to do whatever it takes to support them. KIPP LA Public Schools have high expectations, believe that all children can learn, and never, never give up on their students. KIPP Promesa meets the needs of all students, including the 27% of English language learners and 9% of students receiving special education services.

I appreciate that KIPP embraces and honors our culture, because we take great pride in being Latino and believe that celebrating diversity is important. 97% of students at KIPP Promesa are hispanic, which reflects the demographics of the historic Boyle Heights community. Recently, our school held a community-wide event during Latino Heritage month with student performances, art exhibits, and delicious food highlighting the richness of our culture. My hijos are also becoming bilingual thanks to the strong Spanish program at KIPP.

KIPP Promesa Prep students celebrate during Latino Heritage Month

Sending my children to KIPP Promesa is the best decision I have ever made and I urge the Boyle Heights Neighborhood Council to support our dream of a permanent, united school for our KIPPsters, which will help to fulfill KIPP Promesa’s promises to my children and future generations to come.

--

--