Baklava

A traditional, Greek pastry

Gina Pacelli
Kitchen Tales

--

Photo by Michael Parulava on Unsplash

Baklava is a traditional, Greek pastry made of honey, walnuts, filo dough, and a touch of lemon. Have you ever tasted this delightful dish?

As a kid, my mom would have us all in the kitchen cooking and baking traditional, Greek dishes for the holidays. Baklava was not my favorite, and I kicked and screamed when asked to participate in the process. Chocolate and ice cream were the sugary delights that got my taste buds flowing.

I hemmed and hawed when my mom forced me to learn how to make Greek food. If only I had paid a little more attention when I was a kid. How was I to know one day I would love to cook Greek dishes?

My first few attempts at making baklava were challenging. In my family, the ingredients in recipes are estimates. You really have to be familiar with the textures and know how to throw everything together. Thus, my first few pans of baklava were mushy in my mouth. When I realized I did not need the entire batch of syrup, my baklava resembled my mom’s.

A former boss went to Greece, and one of the executives asked, “Is the baklava in Greece as good as Gina’s?” Her response, “No.” I have come a long way since my initial shot of making baklava on my own. Now, baklava is a signature dish for me.

Ingredients

--

--

Gina Pacelli
Kitchen Tales

Adventure Seeker, Dream Chaser, Free Spirit, Explorer, Boston-based, Marketer, Consultant. Consider joining Medium: https://ginapacelli.medium.com/membership