A Chicken Story

Five Meals From One Chicken

Recently I bought a chicken. Here is the story of that very bird…

May More
Kitchen Tales
Published in
4 min readJan 2, 2022

--

Image by anncapictures from Pixabay (adpated by the author)

In my kitchen, we usually cook from scratch and are not at all wasteful. We simply can’t afford to be.

Occasionally we will buy a whole chicken. Free-range, for many reasons I won’t go into here, but overall because they taste better. I am a huge fan of chickens. I mean, come on, they give us eggs too.

Recently I bought a chicken for £5.90. Here is the story of that very bird!

The Chicken’s Tale ~ Meals for Two People

Meal One

Mostly my partner cooks. He enjoys it. For him, it is another creative outlet. So when we bought the poultry, he butchered it. Cutting off the legs, thighs, and wings, which we then froze.

The first meal from this wonderful chicken was a roast, just using the crown. It was accompanied by roasted potatoes, onions, and parsnips. Plus steamed greens and carrots.

He does a little trick while roasting the bird. For about forty minutes, when he firsts puts the bird in the oven, he cooks it on it’s back.

--

--

May More
Kitchen Tales

Gardener, Pet care & proud Mum / Mistress of Flash Fiction / Writer & Editor / Lipstick & Powder & Cocktail Club Pubs / Like food, coffee, hens & individuals 💜