Food is BAE

Diary of a Picky Foodie

Melanie J.
Kitchen Tales

--

Photo by Shamia Casiano from Pexels

I am a self-proclaimed foodie, food is literally bae. However, I have had weird eating habits and I consider myself to be a very picky eater. Though I love food, I have spent the last 25+ years eliminating different foods, mostly animal flesh, from my diet. This all began back in high school when my best friend dared me that I could not give up red meat. Ha, that was easy, but it did come with one tiny hiccup, bacon.

What began as a friendly bet has paved the way for the choices that I have made in what I eat today.

First, I gave up red meat which was easy, but I continued to eat bacon because I was convinced that bacon was not red meat. That successful marketing campaign that kicked off in the late 80’s certainly had me fooled, I literally thought that pork was the other white meat, 🤦‍♀️🤦‍♀️🤦‍♀️.

With much hesitation and trust me, I put up a good fight, I finally stopped eating bacon and have not looked back since. But I must admit when I smell bacon cooking, it still makes me salivate🤤🤤🤤. Bacon juice is everything and bacon is the one red meat that I remember the taste of.

My second elimination came about 5 years ago after a terrible night of drinking, where the morning after while hungover in bed, I made a decision to go on a detox. My decision to eat clean for a few days…

--

--