I, Garlic

A poem

Gaby Rogut
Kitchen Tales

--

Even though
almost everybody sings my praises
there are very few songs about me.

You could argue I’m everywhere,
even when you don’t get to see me.

I have been diced, crushed,
pureed, and, gasp, pulverized.

They call me versatile but,
what I truly am, is paramount.

If you doubt my words,
devote a few minutes
to imagine a world without me.

Pretty repulsive, huh?

Sadly, there are those
who claim they can’t stand me.

They say I’m too pungent,
that they can sense me from a block away
and that my aroma
brings them pain.

Poor fools!

There’s nothing I can do about it,
and, in fact, I don’t need to;
after all, I’m the king of the spice rack,
and you’ll struggle to find a kitchen
without me.

So, let the naysayers
keep spreading their myths;
I know who I am,
and so do you.

I am the mighty garlic,
coming soon
to a dish near you.

Thanks to Jupiter Grant for the tag.

--

--

Gaby Rogut
Kitchen Tales

Jack of too many trades. Mom to a son. Former teacher. Bi. Autistic. Mexicana. Need some feedback? Hire me! https://ko-fi.com/gabyrogut/commissions