Venison — the better red meat

Rosemary & Garlic Crusted Roast Leg of Venison

A winter harvest of wild meat brings a fresh flavor to the table

Arpad Nagy
Kitchen Tales
Published in
6 min readDec 11, 2022

--

Fresh herb coated venison leg roast. Photo by Author.

It is good to have friends, but it is better to have good friends when you are poor. So I foster my small circle of friendships with food and have established a fine barter system over time.

Friends know that if they share raw ingredients, I will repay them with portions of cooked or baked goods while keeping some for my family. It’s a true win-win arrangement. And so, it was nearly a week ago when a friend messaged me asking if I wanted some deer meat. Any meat is always welcome, but venison is a special gift. I accepted and immediately offered up some recently made chowder in exchange. Although I believe I came out better in the deal, my pal was more than happy with the arrangement.

A successful hunting season left his freezers stocked to bursting, and when I arrived, not only did I have an abundance of meat gifted, but after dry aging the deer meat for a week, I also had my choice of prime cuts. Ten minutes later, I had six cuts off the hind quarters and was happily on my way home.

--

--

Arpad Nagy
Kitchen Tales

A Proud Hungarian-Canadian, throwback romantic who loves to write. Editor @ Kitchen Tales,The Short Place (Fiction) The Memoirist, Age of Empathy, The Book Cafe