POETRY

Scrambled Eggs

Free verse poetry

James G Brennan
Kitchen Tales
Published in
2 min readSep 3, 2020

--

Photo by amirali mirhashemian on Unsplash

Asthma has been my curse from such a young age.
Allergies, feckin’ allergies.
Allergic to eggs! What do you mean
Allergic to eggs?!

I can feel a certain writer friend’s scorn
At this moment burning through the
Other side of the computer screen.

As we get older, us severe asthmatics, find our
Allergies change, yes, you read right, dear Lucy
Allergies change, and for me no serious
Side effects to the scrambled egg!

I will put up with my belly swell and not eat eggs too often,
And so can enjoy my scrambled eggs on?
Yes, you guessed it, toast!

Just right and fluffy not watery and soggy
(Not like in this picture, yuk)
Stirring around the pan with excited anticipation,
Black pepper’s my flavor, spring onion on top
Of brown bread toast with a bit of crunch.
A strong mug of tea to wash it down
Happy am I for me scrambled eggs on toast!

Right so, I will just relax here happy and fulfilled,
Me and my belly swell.
Parrp, oops, ‘scuse me.

A wee dedication to Lucy (the egg girl) because she loves eggs!

Thank you Gaby Rosales for giving my silly words a platform here at
Kitchen Tales…Thank you all for reading and your precious time. J.

--

--

James G Brennan
Kitchen Tales

Writes free to read eclectic free verse poetry. "Everything in life is writable about" Sylvia Plath.