The Best Bison Burger Recipe | Alexis D Lee

A recipe

Alexis Lee
Kitchen Tales
3 min readJan 13, 2021

--

Picture of a bison meat burger.
Photo by the author

This is seriously the best bison burger recipe, in my opinion, and they are so easy to make! If you are looking to switch up your burgers, you need to try this recipe! Everyone in my house has been OBSESSED with these because they are juicy and full of flavor.

When you try this recipe out, please let me know what you think!

Full Recipe: https://alexisdlee.com/best-bison-burger-recipe/

Bison Burgers vs. Hamburgers

Beef used in hamburgers comes from cattle whereas bison meat comes from bison/buffalo. Both bison and beef are a good source of vitamins like zinc, iron and loaded with protein as long as you get lean cuts.

However, beef is higher in calories and fat compared to ground bison. I like bison because most of the bison sold in the United States is raised without antibiotics and hormones, making it more sustainable. Also, the fact that it has way less fat is definitely a win for me!

Watch Best Bison Burger Recipe

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=byCmBfOSOS8

Are Bison Burgers Good?

Short answer… YES!! I honestly like them so much more than regular burgers because they are still very juicy and full of flavor, but you don’t feel like crap after. I am not sure about you, but I do not feel my best afterward when I eat a burger.

Where to Buy Bison

I buy Costco's ground bison because you can get 2 packs for under $15.

How to Cook Bison Burgers in Cast-Iron Skillet

Personally, I like burgers better when they are cooked in a cast-iron skillet rather than on the grill. I feel like they are juicier and hold a lot more flavor. But, if you prefer to grill your burgers, then go right ahead! If you are pan-searing them, all you need to do is cook them on each side for about 3–5 minutes in butter. Make sure they are cooked through and reach an internal temperature of at least 140 degrees F.

Photo by the author

Toppings for Best Bison Burger Recipe

When it comes to burgers, I am all about the toppings… okay, this is the case for almost anything I eat. However, this is especially with burgers and sandwiches.

Here are some of my favorite Toppings:

  • Dijon Mayo
  • Lettuce
  • Tomatoes
  • Brioche Bun
  • Pepper Jack Cheese
  • Blue Cheese
  • White Cheddar Cheese
  • Lettuce
  • Jalapenos
  • Saute Onions
Photo by the author

Sauteed Onions

  • 1 Large Onion Sliced
  • 1 Tbsp Butter
  • 1 Tbsp Olive Oil

Ingredients:

  1. Heat oil and butter over medium-high heat.
  2. Add onions and cook for 3 minutes.
  3. Reduce heat to low and cover for 20 minutes.
Photo by the author

Jerk Chicken Baked Sea Bass Fillets Mediterranean Cod Bake

Originally published at https://alexisdlee.com on January 13, 2021.

--

--