Poetry | Kitchen | Humor

The Wizardry of Flavors

A culinary adventure

Sam Letterwood
Kitchen Tales

--

Spoonful of spices
Photo by Calum Lewis on Unsplash

A kitchen of chaos, pots and pans in a dance,
I entered the universe of cooking, took a chance.
With a recipe in hand, or more like a map,
I embarked on a journey, wearing my chef’s cap.

First, the veggies gathered in a rainbow array,
Like a painter with colors, I chopped them away.
Onions brought tears, tomatoes rolled off the table,
It was a musical of chaos, not a culinary fable.

The stove was a dragon, breathing fire with glee,
As I wrestled with spices, feeling like a spice referee.
Salt and pepper, the dynamic duo of flavor,
A pinch too much, and the taste will surely waver.

Pasta boiled in protest, bubbles rising in disdain,
While I tried to convince it, “You’ll be delicious, don’t complain!”
The kitchen timer sang a song of urgency,
In this culinary adventure, time was of the essence, evidently.

As I stirred the pot, a magical aroma filled the air,
The concoction bubbling, creating a savory affair.
Tasting my creation, with a spoon in hand,
I felt like a wizard, casting spells in the cooking land.

Finally, the masterpiece was ready to grace the plate,
A rhythm of flavors, a dance of fate.
With a satisfied sigh, and a proud grin,
I marveled at the canvas of my culinary win.

If you ever find yourself in this cooking quest,
Remember, it’s not a chore, but a delightful fest.
Embrace the chaos, dance with the ingredients’ glee,
In the universe of cooking, you’re the master, you see.

© Sam Letterwood 2024. All Rights Reserved.

--

--

Sam Letterwood
Kitchen Tales

Science enthusiast, Knowledge seeker, Meditation and yoga practitioner, Life-long learner