Top and Bottom Caramel Cheesecake

A full dairy, deep and rich double caramel cake. Gluten-free.

Arpad Nagy
Kitchen Tales

--

Photo by Author

Cheesecake. Just reading the word summons visions of rich, creamy goodness. A decadent slice of calorie-rich, comforting forkfuls of sweet comfort.

I love Cheesecake, so much so that even though I have a degree of lactose intolerance, I gladly suffer the gastro-intestinal meltdown to slip the velvety and sugary crusted, deliciousness between my lips eyes closed with an “Mmmm” of satisfaction.

Of the days past when sojourns in restaurants were still a semi-regular occurrence, I would peruse the menu hopeful for two offerings; French Onion soup and Cheesecake. I was a true aficionado of both and tired of neither. But naturally, there were times when I was disappointed by one or both. A thin, flat offering of stewed onions in beef broth with shredded parmesan scattered over stale croutons without a hint of red wine, vermouth or sherry. A travesty. But those could be forgiven. Not every kitchen has the time and patience to caramelize a ragout of three different types of onions, shallots and garlic to their golden, sugary perfection, then bathing them in a good red, dry sherry and sweet vermouth. Still, I have to examine all offerings.

--

--

Arpad Nagy
Kitchen Tales

A Proud Hungarian-Canadian, throwback romantic who loves to write. Editor @ Kitchen Tales,The Short Place (Fiction) The Memoirist, Age of Empathy, The Book Cafe