Let Not Mercy And Truth Forsake You (Prov 3:3)

Elyse Blennerhassett
Kites From Inside
Published in
2 min readAug 13, 2019

By Christoper Hunter

My Heavenly Father, God of the Most High.
Creator of Earth, please heareth my cry.

You are the ruler in the Kingdom of man.

The heart of the President rest in your hand.

What words shall I write that can reach Trumps ear?
help me be eloquent and speak with no fear.

I know of no lobbyist or lawyers who cares
No Hollywood model or basketball players

Send an Advocate forward to carry me out
I’m a changed man who’s drank of the fount

I acknowledge my guilt I declare my regret
I’ve pointed no fingers as i pay on this debt

No excuses of youth, broken home, or addicted
Drugs crush the community I’m ashamed i inflicted

With that out of the way i must boldly speak real
The system is broken, NO PAROLE to appeal

There’s no second chance, no way to explain
No way to restore or reasons to change.

Fourteen years served I feel the effects
Just a street level dealer with no Cartel connects.

Fourteen years served and the end isn’t near
the punishment for MURDER is just as severe

There’s plenty of death and plenty to fight

I can end it today with a sheet tied tight

These are the choices 45, I had to decide
Do i succumb to the dark or reach for the light

I fought the depression many days — I had Woe
I hid in the secret place under His shadow

Two souls on this earth that i must make amends
my son and my mother I’m dying to kiss

Only you can help me, You and you alone
help me, have mercy before my mothers called home

Ill cry out day and night till my face turns blue
And pray that in my persistence i don’t weary you

So many have changed forgotten amongst us
Use Article II, sec. 2 to combat this injustice

I love this Great country despite of the system
The “Prerogative of Mercy” was a royal tradition

Washington used the pardon in 1794
“Humanity and Good Policy,” Hamilton swore

Adams Pardoned deserters, Lincoln and Andrews as well
Kennedy brought drug dealer out of this hell

With the faith of a mustard seed you CAN TO !!
I’m deserving of freedom I CANDO !!!!!

--

--

Elyse Blennerhassett
Kites From Inside

audio + multimedia producer for podcasts, film, and space