Autopticon

David A. Loibl
Kitten’s Cradle
Published in
1 min readApr 26, 2020

I moved the clock in my living room to another wall.
But my muscle memory hasn’t caught up yet.
So when I wonder if I’m running late, I still turn to where it used to be.

The old spot isn’t empty, though: a mirror’s hanging there now.
And instead of an answer I find the question staring back at me.

High noon. Who’s gonna blink?

Taking on yourself is tricky.
No chance of winning by standing firm.
No use in retreating and going for a lesser foe.
No way of getting through without taking a beat down.

Photo by Autor, 2017

Originally published on Wetterleuchten on April 26, 2020.

--

--

David A. Loibl
Kitten’s Cradle

on a quest to trade my lazy cleverness for disciplined bewilderment • poetry and essays • focused on perception, identity, philosophy, sociology & language