From Content Creator to Content Producer

Nikki Barron
kittenteeth
Published in
4 min readMar 20, 2018

I used to describe myself as a marketing department in a box. I am a trained graphic designer, web developer, and marketer. I can strategize, create, implement and measure most marketing campaigns from beginning to end. I love to be hands-on, whether it is a camera operator, video editor, asset designer or web developer — I love it all, and I am pretty good at it.

In January of this year, I was invited to transition from a freelancing “marketer in a box” to the Director of Marketing for Mastin Labs. It was a tough decision for me as I loved my freedom and I loved being a scrappy freelancer my clients turned to for everything. The company that Kirk Mastin is building is unique, and after much soul searching I came to the realization he is my favorite person to work with, and I trusted and believed genuinely in his mission.

I have a little experience being a manager of small teams, but I have always been more of an individual contributor. Even in high school, my favorite sports were track and field, because even if the team tanked, I knew I could measure my contribution on its own. Yes, not the healthiest mindset I know. Transitioning from content creator to content producer has not been the most natural thing for me to do. If you are someone who’s transitioning to a management role in marketing, or really any management role, I would like to share some of my lessons learned.

Lesson #1: Don’t be a taker-over-er

I am a self-admitted taker-over-er. I love to help and sometimes my eagerness to help means I can take over someone’s project, finish it and not notice that I have just done it. When we first hired our video content creator, I tasked him with making a video for Valentine’s Day. At Mastin Labs, we believe all love is beautiful, and photography has an important role to play in opening windows into how varied love can be. During the first interview for the video, I was so excited and anxious about our first video campaign I ultimately took over. I butted in, and I think I made the interviewee nervous. They had not met me, our video guy had set a great casual tone, and I just butted myself in, ruining the whole vibe! I learned a valuable lesson when I saw how much worse my interview footage was than his. Taking over had made the project worse not better. I hire specific people for a reason, and I need to let them do their jobs.

Lesson #2: Be a North Star

If you can start anywhere, it can be overwhelming to know where the best starting point is. Defining the projects and being the “North Star” is my job as the content producer. For every piece of content, I provide the creative brief, the goals of the campaign, specific samples, and a production timeline. My goal within each of these is to give my creators a starting point and a place to check in to for decision making when they need guidance. A “North Star” content producer empowers their teams to create their best work by being a guiding light.

Lesson #3: Be a Servant Leader

A servant-leader “puts the needs of others first and helps people develop and perform as highly as possible.” I serve my content creators as a resource, a decision maker and the person who gets buy-in from stakeholders. At the end of the day, if the content is not right, that is on me as the producer, and that is how I approach managing my team. This approach makes my team want me to succeed. They do not want me to take a hard meeting or get our content rejected by stakeholders. They want to make me look good. That is because they know I do not want them to fail either. Whether it is the subject of a photoshoot (made my big time model debut this year!), loading gear, ordering lunch, finding more budget or defending their creative decisions, I am willing to do what is necessary to help them succeed.

Lesson #4: Create a “No Bad Ideas” Environment

A good content producer creates an environment where no idea is a bad idea. A collaborative environment makes better content. During brainstorming meetings, it is essential to maintain a high level of attention, enthusiasm, and inclusion. If I am checking text messages or allowing team members to shut each other down I am not creating a space for innovation. We hire people not only for their video or writing skills but their creative thinking skills as well! Focus on creating an area where they can use them.

Lesson #5: Always Keep Learning

I learn new lessons every day that make me a better content producer. Transitioning to a content producer role has helped me scale my ideas to new heights. So I leave you with the last lesson to always keep learning.

--

--

Nikki Barron
kittenteeth

I write about gender, music, art, travel, entrepreneurship, marketing and growing up. Always trying to add more “ands” to myself.