A Christian Student’s Daily Affirmation

Kittie Phoenix
Kittie Phoenix, the Next Edition
3 min readFeb 4, 2019

Even as I am in the process of becoming a teacher, I have become a student again. I must study psychology and curriculum.

Image courtesy of Pixabay

One of the pieces that has deeply moved me is a TED talk by Rita Pierson, a third-generation educator. I am including the link to her TED talk.

I dearly loved the power of the daily affirmation she developed for her students. It builds them up and gives them hope for growth and change.

Image courtesy of Pixabay

However, as a Christian, I find it falls short, especially for students in a society that increasingly rejects all that we have held dear and true for centuries regardless of denominational differences:

  • the sanctity of life
  • the preciousness of sexuality expressed within proper context
  • the value of all regardless of ability or wealth

I have taken the liberty of reviewing her affirmations at 4:00–4:13. I have diligently studied them, holding them up to the Truth of God’s Word. I have revised them to include those precious Words — still alive, powerful, and sharper than any human weapon — in the hopes of building and strengthening the foundations of faith so we can be strong in the Lord and in His mighty power, standing when we have done all else.

So, without further adieu, here is the daily affirmation for a Christian student. The Scripture references follow; I tried to keep them in order, but sometimes it all blends together.

God chose me before I was born, as He formed me in my mother’s womb.

I am so precious to Him that anyone who hurts me hurts God the Father.

As I draw closer to Him, I am being changed from glory to glory, reflecting His image and likeness more and more and more. I can be confident that He who started to change me for His good will continue to change me until I am completed when He calls me home.

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me, and when I am weakest, His grace is enough as His strength is made perfect in me.

Although I do not deserve His grace and favor, the Father of Lights Who does not change freely sends me every good and perfect gift from above.

I am a poem written by the Author and Finisher of my faith; He has written good things for me to do from the time before I was formed in my mother’s womb.

Although I am to have more regard for God than man, I will live in love by keeping God’s commands so that all will know that I follow the Lord and am no respecter of persons and do not show favoritism.

I will go where God the Father sends me.

Jeremiah 1:5 (ICB), Zechariah 2:8 (ICB), 2 Corinthians 3:18 (NKJV, AMPC, TLV, NIV), Philippians 1:6 (NIV, ICB), Philippians 4:13 (ICB), 2 Corinthians 12:9 (NIV, ICB), Ephesians 2:5 (AMPC), James 1:17 (AMPC, IBC), Ephesians 2:10 (TPT), Hebrews 12:2 (KJV), Acts 4:19, John 14:15, John 14:21, John 15:12–13, John 13:34–35, Acts 10:34 (AMPC, TPT), Isaiah 6:8 (ICB, NLV)

--

--

Kittie Phoenix
Kittie Phoenix, the Next Edition

Teacher | Writer | Parent | Spouse | Thinker | Dreamer | Wanderer | Mischief Explorer | Country Mouse (more tags to follow over time)