Changeling’s Chagrin

Kittie Phoenix
Kittie Phoenix, the Next Edition
1 min readMar 29, 2017

You can’t love me
When I am what I’m called to be.

I can’t love me
When I try to be what you need me to be.

It doesn’t matter what my lover’s heart is;
You’d almost rather I’d bed down with demons.

I don’t understand your rules;
They suck the life and health from my soul.

Grace’s freedoms set my soul on fire;
Yet you can’t look into the flames,
And you can’t stand the heat of my heart.

Respect from others comes
From trying always with you.

Yet would my peace be greater
If I just closed the gate
To the garden of the family tree?

Why? I don’t know.
Does it matter? I’m not sure.
How? I don’t care anymore.

--

--

Kittie Phoenix
Kittie Phoenix, the Next Edition

Teacher | Writer | Parent | Spouse | Thinker | Dreamer | Wanderer | Mischief Explorer | Country Mouse (more tags to follow over time)