Corona Cognitive Dissonance

Kittie Phoenix
Kittie Phoenix, the Next Edition
3 min readMay 12, 2020

So…

Image Source: Pixabay

I haven’t posted in a while. I’m not sure where this is going to go, but you may come along for the ride.

I’ve been really frustrated with society. My rants go for 50 miles on just initial fumes.

We have so much technological advancement. Yet, it takes away jobs and leaves people behind.

We have the haves wanting to give to the have nots. However, how have and have not get defined usually mean that the have nots with a bit more bear the burden of the have nots with a bit less. Meanwhile, the haves manipulate politics and policy to ensure there will only ever be haves.

Customer service jobs seem to be more and more about blaming and ripping off the customer than serving the customer and fixing the issues.

We have all these programs and services. However, with the wrong numbers and heritage, it is hard to access anything. You become a self-sufficient island undergoing constant emotional erosion into seas of distress and stress.

It’s pretty obvious that I’ve thrown in my lot with the have nots. My blue collar work ethic and white collar intellect usually get me in trouble with most white collar types or blue collars who want to be white collars. Might as well be useful and take my white collar abilities to blue collar areas and help them figure out how to make much with little growing smaller daily.

I guess the political and policy environment has everyone on edge. It’s sliced me to the quick. My voice will never be heard. I don’t sit well with either political party. I accept the sacrifice of soldiers while standing as a pacifist. I want better working conditions for women while not being able to conscience abortion on demand as a health care right. I do believe social programs will help, but I believe they should be the realm of faithful people and not big government. I see some value to technology, but I fear the current applications (like contact tracking and tracing) could be abused by a more sinister politician in the future.

All this tension as I strive to become an authentic individual is stifling the stories within. The poetry pump is no longer primed. All I have is a serious case of the angries.

Acts of service no longer suffice to siphon off the energy generated by an active dissonance with most media outlets and government agencies. The dissonance duplicates exponentially when I consider that my role as a Christian is to pray for my government leaders and honor their authority because the Lord never directly addresses what a Christian response should be when the leaders act like immature, sophomoric, schoolyard bullies and control freaks and violate the wise precepts of His Word.

What to do? What to do?

The blinding darkness of panicked attacks at hallucinatory windmills just adds to the feeling. A real walk in Sonshine would help, but churches are bowing to the will of government without truly considering how to continue being His Hands and Feet in the midst of shutdown, crackdown, and threatened financial consequence for violating guidelines.

Eh, hell…

Maybe that’s what’s descending on us. Hell itself… We just can’t recognize or fix it because we’ve been slowly stewing in it for decades.

Image Source: Flikr

It’s like the old lab tale:

  • put a frog in a beaker of water
  • slowly turn up a bunsen burner
  • kill the frog because it gets used to the heat and won’t fight
Image Source: Pixabay

Wish I had a candle or nightlight to give you after this. These are just my thoughts as a writer, thinker, Christian, worker, woman, parent… I don’t like the darkness I see, but if I cannot face the darkness, I never know what’s there to start describing it to the Morning Star so He can do whatever He will do with it…

--

--

Kittie Phoenix
Kittie Phoenix, the Next Edition

Teacher | Writer | Parent | Spouse | Thinker | Dreamer | Wanderer | Mischief Explorer | Country Mouse (more tags to follow over time)