Disillusionment in Two-Part Disharmony

Kittie Phoenix
Kittie Phoenix, the Next Edition
2 min readOct 16, 2018
Image courtesy of Pixabay

Back against the wall
Eyes tight shut
Drool puddling at my feet
Putrid breath in my nostrils
Dirty lies in my ears
My sword is gone
Surrendered to a greater power long ago
Words escape me
Not from my lips
But from a brain
Wired for a different time, another place
No way up
No way out
No way through
I want to look
I want to escape
I want to breathe
Fear crouches at my feet
Anger grips my chest and binds me breathless
Pride whispers roaring around my head
Answers buried in the dead of night
Can’t seem to dance out of the zombie grave
Waiting
Waiting
Waiting
No end in sight

******

Image courtesy of Pixabay

I want to open my eyes
I want to see the beauty that was
I want to hear the sounds of joy
But the aroma of monster lies too loudly
Alone is not good
But alone is the only safe place to be
As anger tugs the marionette strings of my heart
Shattered mirror shards slice away wholeness and life
Faith bleeds out
As hope is siphoned out
And the dancing heart slows its faithful rhythm
The Oneness of the Three-in-One:
Is it still honored?

--

--

Kittie Phoenix
Kittie Phoenix, the Next Edition

Teacher | Writer | Parent | Spouse | Thinker | Dreamer | Wanderer | Mischief Explorer | Country Mouse (more tags to follow over time)