Don’t Cry; Party On

Kittie Phoenix
Kittie Phoenix, the Next Edition
1 min readSep 30, 2017

Don’t mourn for me;
It’s only my remains in the casket.
I’ve gone to a far, far better place,
And I won’t have another care.
My Lord will be ever present with no more tears.

Don’t weep for you for my loss;
Instead focus your eyes on the Lord and His Word.
Be His friend and live His way.
Then you’ll join me in that far, far better place some day,
And we’ll celebrate eternity away.

Author’s Note: Unlike some Americans, I love Al Jazeera and the alternate viewpoints. Their special interest stories have made me laugh and cry, and even question whether I live what I believe. This poem was based on a video they shared on Facebook. Feel free to check it out. Personally, I don’t think it’s a new idea; it’s very similar to the second half of a New Orleans jazz funeral.

--

--

Kittie Phoenix
Kittie Phoenix, the Next Edition

Teacher | Writer | Parent | Spouse | Thinker | Dreamer | Wanderer | Mischief Explorer | Country Mouse (more tags to follow over time)