Empty Arms, Broken Heart

Kittie Phoenix
Kittie Phoenix, the Next Edition
1 min readDec 6, 2017
Image courtesy of Pixabay

I carried you in my body for a while, but I never saw your smile.

The angels carried you away, and I couldn’t make you stay.

My empty arms can never be filled, and my silent tears can never be stilled.

Everything feels completely wrong, but around me life still goes on.

Now Jesus sings a lullaby and rocks you every night, and I will never forget you try as I might.

  • Although these experiences aren’t mine, the poem is dedicated to all the families who have experienced miscarriage, stillbirth, or neonatal death, particularly in the days when those things couldn’t be discussed

--

--

Kittie Phoenix
Kittie Phoenix, the Next Edition

Teacher | Writer | Parent | Spouse | Thinker | Dreamer | Wanderer | Mischief Explorer | Country Mouse (more tags to follow over time)