In Honor of My Lover’s Birth…

Kittie Phoenix
Kittie Phoenix, the Next Edition
1 min readJun 4, 2018

Author’s Note: In response to user comments elsewhere, I’ve decided that the pieces this week will have an audio component. Feel free to let me know if you want me to think about continuing to add audio after this week. Also let me know if the link fails; technology is not always my friend.

https://youtu.be/PMb9SYE8Mbk

Image courtesy of Pixabay

The joy fires in your eyes beamed out at the frozen abyss in my soul.

Frozen, the ice maiden froze. Empty solitude stared abiding love in the face.

It was no Mexican standoff: gentle love quietly defeated deafening, screaming silence.

A rock heart softened and began to warm, waxing and melting stronger, burning brighter.

Glacial attitudes retreated, never to return.

I bless the day the pleasure of milk chocolate pools poured sweetness in my soul and melted me.

--

--

Kittie Phoenix
Kittie Phoenix, the Next Edition

Teacher | Writer | Parent | Spouse | Thinker | Dreamer | Wanderer | Mischief Explorer | Country Mouse (more tags to follow over time)